UGC NET December 2026 application form: last date 28 October, fee, exam date 14-19 December
National Testing Agency (NTA), on behalf of the University Grants Commission (UGC)✓ Checked against the official notice ·
Where is this recruitment now?
- Notification
- Apply
- Admit card
- Exam
- Answer key
- Result
| Organisation | National Testing Agency (NTA), on behalf of the University Grants Commission (UGC) |
| Qualification | Not stated in this notice. Candidates must follow the Information Bulletin on the NTA website. |
| Age limit | Not stated in this notice. |
| Pay scale | Not applicable (examination, not a recruitment). |
| UGC-NET December 2026 examination (87 subjects, CBT mode) | — |
| Notice published and online application opens | 8 October 2026 |
| Last date to submit application and exam fee (up to 11:50 PM) | 28 October 2026 |
| Late submission of application with late fee Rs. 500 (up to 11:50 PM) | 29 to 31 October 2026 |
| Last date of successful fee transaction with late fee (up to 11:50 PM) | 31 October 2026 |
| Correction in particulars of the application form (up to 11:50 PM) | 2 to 4 November 2026 |
| Announcement of exam city | To be intimated later |
| Downloading of admit card | To be intimated later |
| Date of examination | 14 to 19 December 2026 |
| General / Unreserved | ₹1150 |
| General-EWS / OBC-NCL | ₹600 |
| SC / ST / PwD / Third Gender | ₹325 |
The National Testing Agency (NTA) has opened the online application for UGC-NET December 2026. You can apply from 8 October 2026 to 28 October 2026 (up to 11:50 PM) on ugcnet.nta.nic.in. The exam will be held in Computer Based Test (CBT) mode for 87 subjects from 14 December 2026 to 19 December 2026. The fee is ₹1150 (General/Unreserved), ₹600 (General-EWS/OBC-NCL) and ₹325 (SC/ST/PwD/Third Gender).
UGC NET December 2026 important dates
As per the NTA public notice dated 8 October 2026:
- Application opens: 8 October 2026
- Last date for application and exam fee: 28 October 2026 (up to 11:50 PM)
- Late submission with ₹500 late fee: 29 to 31 October 2026 (up to 11:50 PM)
- Last date of successful fee transaction with late fee: 31 October 2026 (up to 11:50 PM)
- Correction in application particulars: 2 to 4 November 2026 (up to 11:50 PM)
- Exam city announcement and admit card download: to be intimated later
- Date of examination: 14 to 19 December 2026
NTA states that these dates are tentative and applicants will be informed of any change.
Application fee by category
| Category | Fee |
|---|---|
| General / Unreserved | ₹1150 |
| General-EWS / OBC-NCL | ₹600 |
| SC / ST / PwD / Third Gender | ₹325 |
The fee is paid online through credit card, debit card, net banking or UPI. The notice lists a ₹500 late fee for applications submitted from 29 to 31 October. It does not say clearly whether this is charged on top of the category fee.
Exam mode, subjects and dates
NTA will conduct UGC-NET December 2026 for 87 subjects in Computer Based Test (CBT) mode. The exam is scheduled from 14 December 2026 to 19 December 2026. The centre, date and shift will be shown on the admit card. The exam city announcement and admit card date have not been announced yet. Recorded responses and answer key(s) will be displayed on the website later.
How to apply
Apply online only, on the official website ugcnet.nta.nic.in. Applications in any other mode will not be accepted.
- Read the Information Bulletin on the NTA website and follow its instructions.
- Fill in the online form on ugcnet.nta.nic.in. Registration has also been enabled through Meri Pehchan, the single sign-on service of MeitY.
- Submit only one application per candidate.
- Give an e-mail address and mobile number that are your own (or your parent’s/guardian’s) and working, because NTA sends all communication there.
- Pay the fee online.
No changes are allowed after final submission, so fill in the particulars carefully. Where possible, the notice advises using Aadhaar verification. For help, contact 011-40759000 / 011-69227700 or ugcnet@nta.ac.in.
Correction window and what the notice does not say
The window for correction in application particulars is 2 November 2026 to 4 November 2026 (up to 11:50 PM).
This notice does not state the educational qualification, age limit or the list of the 87 subjects. Check the Information Bulletin on the NTA website for these. Use only the official website ugcnet.nta.nic.in (and nta.ac.in).
Official links
This information is taken from the official document linked above and explained in plain language. If you spot a mistake, tell us — we will check and correct it. Report a mistake →
FAQ
What is the last date for UGC NET December 2026 application?
28 October 2026 (up to 11:50 PM), which is also the last date for the exam fee. You can still apply from 29 to 31 October 2026 with a ₹500 late fee.
What is the UGC NET 2026 exam date?
The exam will be held in CBT mode from 14 December 2026 to 19 December 2026. Centre, date and shift will be on the admit card; the exam city will be announced later.
What is the UGC NET fee?
General/Unreserved ₹1150, General-EWS/OBC-NCL ₹600 and SC/ST/PwD/Third Gender ₹325.
What is the UGC NET December 2026 eligibility and age limit?
The NTA notice does not state them. Check the Information Bulletin on the NTA website for eligibility and age.
When can I correct mistakes in the UGC NET application form?
The correction window is 2 November 2026 to 4 November 2026 (up to 11:50 PM). No changes are allowed after final submission outside this window.
This is an unofficial information website and is not linked to any government department. Always confirm on the official website before applying.